Nonna’s Soup

A hearty soup to warm you up on even the coldest days…

Help! My Teenager has Coeliac Disease

Last Tuesday was a ‘bitterly’ cold winter’s day in the tropical north : 16 – 19 C. Actually, it was an upside down day with 19C being registered at 1am and 16C chilling the bones at 1pm.

Nonnas Soup

In other words, a perfect soup day.  This soup takes me back to my childhood and the smells of my nonna’s kitchen. A simple soup in some respects but full of flavour.

Later in my life, I made sense of this soup in a cultural and historical context.  A hundred years ago in rural Europe, farmers cooked and ate by the seasons and learnt to make a meagre meal stretch further. Meat was not everyday fare and what little a family had, was always made to go a long way. My Catalan grandmother spoke  of the daily vegetable soup and the 1 sardine, 10 to 12 cm long which would feed the family. The…

View original post 358 more words

Leave a Reply

