Chocolate Orange Cake and Dinosaurs

A hint of Jaffa ….

Help! My Teenager has Coeliac Disease

This cake is a sentimental favourite.

IMG_0630In the beginning when I was overwhelmed with the whole gluten free situation, I was speaking with a grandmother of a teenager who is both coeliac and type 1 Diabetic.

We were in the middle of outback Queensland on an Australian Age of Dinosaurs  dinosaur dig, out Winton way  and she grabbed a magazine on the table in the shearers’ quarters and said, “see this recipe, it will be easy to convert to gluten free, it doesn’t have much flour and it has the extra moisture from the creme fraiche and use extra large eggs.” She was right and it has been a winner.   She talked me through a few more tips, forwarded to me a few tried and true recipes and gave me the confidence to get back to baking.

This cake is meant to be baked in a loaf pan but I…

View original post 157 more words

Leave a Reply

